Skip to content

To Have Pizza or Not To Have Pizza??

June 8, 2009

Supreme_pizzaSunday night, my hubby and I went to my sister in law’s house because they were getting rid of some extra furniture and I needed a desk, so we were more than happy to take it off of their hands. (They also have us a bookshelf too, so I was excited!) They had ordered two pizzas, pasta, and breadsticks from Pizza Hut for us all to eat while watching TV before leaving to take the furniture home. I thought to myself, “Okay, I can do this… Just get one slice of pizza, 1/2 a breadstick, and just a taste of the pasta just to not be rude.(yeah, right, who am I kiddin?)”… WEEELLLL, here’s how it went…

We sat watching Judge Judy (wonderful tv show!) and with Diet Mountain Dew in hand, I ate every last bite… and did so rather quickly. It had been a while since I let myself enjoy this wonderful junk food since trying to get my glucose numbers under better control. But as soon as I started, the taste overwhelmed me… the wonderful cheesy, saucy pepperoni pizza, cheesy breadstick, and oh-so-wonderful ham pasta alfredo was simply wonderful! I know it may not be THAT appetizing to some since it only came from Pizza Hut and not some fancy pizzaria, but to me, it was “the best thing since sliced bread”. I tried my best to limit myself, but pretty soon, I REALLY wanted another slice… and of course, it being offered to me didn’t help my willpower any more either. So, yes, I gave in… Doubled what I had intended on eating. And BG showed it later too… 258 BG at beadtime check. OH! I could kick myself! But, the damage is done… may as well correct and watch myself for the next few hours for possible hypos.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

